Write your interesting scenes first

I watched a video by Brandon Sanderson last summer and he talked about writing your strongest scenes first.

Today I found this very useful. I can spend so much time in between my important scenes, just describing a forest or a drive home. 3000 words later nothing has really happened except for “they get home”. So today I’ve been writing the parts that make my story the story that it is. Of course when I go back I’m going to have to change things, but that’s what editing is for.

Unfortunately I can’t find the video because most of his lectures are huge. But if you have some time to kill and you’re interested in writing Fiction (Especially Fantasy/Sci-Fi) check out his lectures.

9 comments on “Write your interesting scenes first

  1. Andrew stone says:

    It’s under the youtube name of writeaboutdragons
    you’ll find it in one of the introductory videos but they’re all good.

  2. Oooh, I like this idea. The interesting scenes are always the most fun to write, so why not reward yourself and write them first? I need to do this.

    • codywestle says:

      Exactly! Though after you start writing the filler there may be stuff you will have to change. But that’s part of the craft, eh?

      • That’s one thing that’s always troubled me about writing. One writing tip is that if it’s boring to write, it will be boring to read. But at the same time, you HAVE to have boring parts, or at least marginally less exciting parts. Otherwise the characters would jump from crisis to crisis without any sort of explanation, and it would just get silly. So … what to do?

      • codywestle says:

        I try to fit in conflict that isn’t necessary to the plot(unless you can fit something essential to the plot during a mundane task). As in, make it interesting to read. Of course describing a character stopping to eat isn’t going to be the most jaw-dropping event. But make it funny, make them think of home, their loved ones, something that makes the character believable.

      • Excellent points! I bow before your literary wisdom 😀

      • codywestle says:

        The credit goes to the interviewers on Youtube. Without their interviews of my favourite authors I would be lost!

  3. I always write like that but then the hardest part for me is to get inspiration to connect all the scenes and fill in the blanks in between.

Leave a Reply

