Preparing for writing

I’m sitting here procrastinating writing this story. I got the idea on my walk home at midnight. And I absolutely love the idea.

I spent the day at a friends house. We had planned a writing session but it didn’t work for me. I was out of my comfort zone. I didn’t have my hourly tea (yes I drink green tea like no other). I had no smokes and most of all I didn’t have my comfy bed.

For me, I need my tea breaks. I need my smoke breaks. My music (preferably without lyrics). Baggy pants (pajama’s) and sweater. Also I can’t be hungry while I write for I’m constantly thinking about food if I am. Being tired isn’t so much of a problem because of all the tea I drink 🙂

So I’m curious as what you do to prepare for writing. What are the things that you need to do to get into the zone. Or can you just sit down and go?

7 comments on “Preparing for writing

  1. slepsnor says:

    I need music, but I’ve learned to sit down and write out of necessity. I used to wait until I was in the right mood and I never got anything done. The price of living with other people.

    • codywestle says:

      That’s definitely my problem. I romanticize it too much. I think I have to be in the right state of mind to right. It’s become ritualistic for me.
      I blame distractions such as Facebook or youtube. I try disabling my internet connection but there’s the off chance that I’ll need to Google something. After that I stumble back on Facebook. Just to check my messages though… I want to get to the point of being able to just sit down and write about the same subject. I often jump from one project to the next. I guess practice is what’s needed.

      • slepsnor says:

        I still wander back to my blog and facebook, but that’s become part of the self-published author job. I started giving myself goals and using the distractions as rewards. Write 2-3 pages, a chapter section, or complete one milestone of a chapter then I get to read a Yahoo article or get 15 minutes on Facebook. It’s a weird type of self-training as if you’re the dog and the master.

      • codywestle says:

        I quite like that idea!
        Also I haven’t read most of your blog but a good idea would be to talk through the steps of self-publishing.

      • slepsnor says:

        I just figured them out myself and I don’t really consider myself an expert. I’ve been focusing more on the process of writing itself. Still, I can give it a try with a step-by-step. It’s really not that complicated. The hardest part is deciding to self-publish instead of continuing the onslaught of rejection letters. Well, I need a non-story section post for Friday anyway, so I guess that will be my topic.

      • codywestle says:

        I’ll be looking forward to it!

  2. jonbowen7000 says:

    I usually do nothing at all, and then just wait for a moment to be obsessed about something so I can just feverishly scrawl my thoughts out. If I want to write but don’t have the energy, I guess I just try to bite the bullet and start writing. That works if I’m not too tired. It fails if I’m in bed when I try to do it, which is 90% of the time… But then, my writing is more like journalling rather than creative fiction. I guess I’d say, doing what you did here is a good strategy. Write about how unmotivated you are if necessary 😛

Leave a Reply

